Board of Trustees

Alma Budd
Alma is a qualified accountant, who has worked across the public sector in local government, higher education, and the NHS, and more recently for arts and human rights charities.

Sam Bompas
Sam is co-founder of Bompas & Parr, a London based creative studio that describes itself as “the leading expert in multi-sensory experience design”. The studio works with commercial brands, artistic institutions, private clients and governments to deliver emotionally compelling experiences to a wide variety of audiences.

Abigail Gilmore
Abi established the MA Arts Management, Policy and Practice at The University of Manchester and works with colleagues in the Institute for Cultural Practices on other postgraduate programmes. She is involved in a range of research, knowledge exchange and public engagement activities concerning the value of the arts and relationships between culture, policy and place. Abi is also a trustee for  Macclesfield Barnaby Festival, and is Chair of Brighter Sound.

Zaiba Jabbar
Zaiba is an artist, filmmaker and the resident curator/emergent producer at LUX, the UK agency for the support and promotion of artists working with the moving image. Zaiba is also founder of Hervisions, a multidisciplinary curating and commissioning agency supporting and promoting new media art made by non-binary artists and artists that identify as women.

Debbi Lander
Debbi is a creative director/producer in arts and media with a particular focus on innovating for the public through brand, experimentation and unconventional and new approaches to art making and audience development. Her career history includes business owner, shinkansen collective; former London 2012 programmer; CEO/Artistic Director of Forma Arts and Media until September 2018 and is currently working as a consultant producer. Debbi is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Associate of FACT, Liverpool and a specialist in interdisciplinary arts practice, technology and performance-based arts.

David Mathias
David is an Associate Solicitor with Weightmans, he trained with DLA Piper in Liverpool and qualified as a specialist planning and infrastructure consents solicitor in September 2010. He joined Weightmans in March 2015 and has significant experience of acting for both the public and private sectors.

Katie Moffat (Deputy Chair)
Katie is an experienced consultant, trainer and strategist and has been providing training and support with digital work for over 18 years, both with The Audience Agency and prior to that, as an independent consultant. At the Audience Agency Katie is Head of Digital and works with clients to help them develop effective ways to use digital tools and technologies to reach, grow and diversify their audiences.

Howard Rifkin (Chair)
Howard has over 30 years’ experience at senior levels in arts management and development, regional and national policy and strategy formulation with and for arts organisations, local authorities and Arts Council England (ACE). After leaving ACE in 2010 as North West’s Director of Arts, Howard has worked as an independent arts consultant for a wide range of clients. He is also Chair of Venture Arts, a visual arts organisation working with learning disabled children, young people and adults and was formerly a Trustee of the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art (CFCCA).

Mike Stubbs
Mike Stubbs is a curator/director and filmmaker based in Liverpool, currently the Creative Producer for Doncaster Creates and developing new work for Bedford Creative Arts and Folkestone Triennial. For 11 years he was the Director/CEO of FACT, Liverpool.  Mike was co-founder of AND as part of partnership between FACT, Cornerhouse and folly. Mike has commissioned and produced over 350 exhibition programmes including White Noise for ACMI, Melbourne, the Nam June Paik retrospective with Tate Liverpool and Kunst Palace, Dusseldorf, Agnes Varda for Liverpool Bienalle, Pipilotti Rist and Sk-Interfaces at FACT as part of European Culture 2008 and most recently the exhibition, Strata for York Art Gallery and Museum of Contemporary Art, Panama.

We would also like to thank our previous trustees:

Iain Bennett
Nancy Collantine
Catherine Garner
Michael Gibbons
Lynne McCadden
Dave Moutrey
Taylor Nuttall